[Skip to content]


Early Years Foundation Stage

girl exploring nature

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a statutory framework for all childcare providers who work with children aged from birth to five. It covers the stage of a child's development from birth to the end of their first  year in school (Reception).

The EYFS framework contains two sets of requirements; the learning and development requirements which describe how early years practitioners should work with children and their families to support their learning and development. The safeguarding and welfare requirements cover all other aspects of maintaining a safe and healthy environment for the children.

It describes how your child should be kept safe and cared for and how all concerned can make sure that your child achieves the most that they can in their earliest years of life. 

Ask at your child’s setting or school for more details.