[Skip to content]


The townships

Historic maps in the council’s planning department show 40 individual townships which existed within the borough circa 1750.

The modern borough includes the following townships – Dudley, Halesowen, Kingswinford, Stourbridge, Sedgley, and Brierley Hill.

The historic townships of the borough were sub-divisions of the ecclesiastical and civil parishes. Most of them owe their origins to the settlements that took place in the early to mid Anglo-Saxon period and are therefore well over 1,000 years old.

The township included the whole area of the community including the paddocks and closes which surrounded it and the arable open fields which surrounded them. Woodland, meadow and pasture land often occupied the outer limits of the township. They were in fact self sufficient units of farming communities. The settlements were the occupied or built up areas of the townships - the village, hamlet or town.

For further information, please see links to the left.

My Dudley

For local property information, enter your postcode and hit 'Go'