[Skip to content]


West Midlands Joint Committee

The West Midlands Joint Committee (WMJC) comprising the seven Metropolitan District Councils of Birmingham, Coventry, Dudley, Sandwell, Solihull, Walsall and Wolverhampton was established in 1985 following the abolition of the County Council.

The Committee is a joint committee for the purposes of Part VI of the Local Government Act 1972. The overall objective of the WMJC is to co-ordinate actions on important issues affecting the local authorities in the West Midlands and to provide a vehicle for communicating these actions and their needs to Government and other influential bodies.

If you have any questions relating to the 2007/08 Annual return, please contact John Brookes at Birmingham City Council (which acts as Secretary for the WMJC) on 0121 303 2376 or email john_brookes@birmingham.gov.uk