Skip to main content
Dudley Council
Dudley Skyline

Quintet to be rewarded for sterling service

Posted on:

Five people with a combined total of more than 100 years’ service on Dudley Council are to be honoured.

Former Mayor of Dudley Dave Tyler and long-serving ward councillor Bryan Cotterill - who both stood down this year after serving 21 and 22 years respectively - are to be made honorary aldermen of the borough.

The title is one of the highest honours awarded by Dudley Council and recognises outstanding service to the borough.

Les Jones, a former leader of the council, and Hilary Bills, a former deputy mayor, are to be awarded the freedom of the borough. Both also bowed out in May having served 22 years and nine years respectively on the authority.

Councillor Ian Kettle - a former Mayor and the councillor with the longest period of continuous service currently sitting on the authority – is also to be awarded the freedom of the borough. Councillor Kettle has been a serving councillor since 1990 – an unbroken period of 31 years.

The trio will join a prestigious list of names to receive the freedom scroll including multi-millionaire businessman Roy Richardson, world tennis star Jordanne Whiley and comedian and actor Lenny Henry.

Councillor Patrick Harley, leader of the council, said:

These five people served the borough tirelessly as councillors – and in Councillor Kettle’s case continues to serve into a third decade - and I am delighted to be able to recognise their commitment in this way.
They have all been influential figures at this authority serving in senior roles, making a huge difference to the lives of the people of this borough.
It is an honour to have served alongside them and fitting to mark their achievements at the council.

About the Author

Press Office


You are free to share, modify, and use images from the news release pages on for any purpose and without any restrictions under Public Domain Dedication - see our Copyright Statement.