Recently Viewed

Close Remove All

Dudley Council the historic capital of the Black Country
Dudley Skyline

Overview of the Council's Structure

Freedom of Information Act 2000
Publication Scheme

The Council operates six Directorates that are responsible for the everyday delivery of services:

  • Chief Executives Department
  • Directorate of Children's Services
  • Directorate of Finance, ICT & Procurement
  • Directorate of Law and Property
  • Directorate of Adult, Community and Housing Services
  • Directorate of the Urban Environment

The Council has agreed a constitution, which sets out how the Council operates, how decisions are made, and the procedures that are followed to ensure that these are efficient, transparent and accountable to local people. Some of the processes are required by law, while others are a matter for the Council to choose.

A full copy of the Council’s constitution can be obtained free of charge at the bottom of this page.

The Council has 72 councillors with one-third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. The overriding duty of Councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

Councillors have to agree to follow a code of conduct to ensure high standards in the way they undertake their duties.

All Councillors meet together as the Council. Meetings of the Council are normally open to the public. Here Councillors decide the Council’s overall policies and set the budget each year. The Council appoints the Leader, the Executive, Select Committees, Area Committees and a number of other Committees as described in the Constitution.