Skip to main content
Dudley Council
Dudley Skyline

Electoral Services are responsible for organising all elections held in the Borough.

Local elections

Dudley Metropolitan Borough is divided into 24 wards.

Each ward is represented by 3 councillors, each serving a 4 year term of office.

There is an election for one councillor to each of the 24 wards on the first Thursday in May of each election year.

Parliamentary or general election

Parliamentary elections are held to vote MP’s into the House of Commons.

There is no set term for parliamentary elections, however a parliamentary election has to take place within five years of the last election.

The last Parliamentary Election took place in December 2019, with the next having to be held in 2024.


By-elections are held if a councillor or member of parliament resigns or dies during their term of office.

West Midlands Mayor and the West Midlands Police and Crime Commissioner

The West Midlands Mayor is elected every 4 years. The last election took place in 2021.

The Police and Crime Commissioner is elected every 4 years. The last election took place in 2021 and the next will be held in 2024.

The West Midlands area covers the Birmingham, Coventry, Dudley, Sandwell, Solihiull, Walsall and Wolverhampton local authorities.